English | Bahasa Malaysia

Royal Malaysian Police Force

Malaysian Flag
Royal Malaysian Police Force

Police Emergency Numbers Banner
For emergencies, call 999
To contact district police headquarters, click here.

Crime Prevention
Rakan Cop (Friends of Cop)
Forensics (CSI)
Interpol Bureau
Police College
Special Branch
Special Operations Force
Traffic Centre

Malaysian Government


The Royal Malaysian Police or Polis Diraja Malaysia (PDRM) in Malay, is a main branch of security forces in Malaysia. The force is a centralized organization that has a gamut of roles that ranges from traffic control to intelligence. Our headquarters is located in Bukit Aman, Kuala Lumpur. The Royal Malaysian Police force is led by an Inspector-General of Police (IGP).

The modern police force in Malaysia started in 25 March 1807 when a police force was established in Penang. Most of the officers were of British origin. Soon, several similar organizations were introduced to the Straits Settlements and states. These organizations, however, were not integrated and were independent of each other. This changed after World War II; police forces all across Malaya were streamlined and placed under a single administration. That administration was known as the Civil Affair Police Force.

During the Malayan Emergency that took place from 1948 till 1960, the force along with the military played a huge role in defeating the communist insurgency. In July 24, 1958, the organization was renamed as the Royal Federation of Malayan Police. Upon the formation of Malaysia in 1963, it was renamed to its current name.

The 93,000-strong contingent force is ready to serve the nation with its "Friendly, Fast and Right" motto.

Federation of Malaya Police Flag: July 1958-July 1959
Royal Federation of Malaya Police Colour, 1961
 Royal Federation of Malaya Police Flag: July 1959-September 1963
Royal Malaysian Police Service Flag, 1963 - 1965

Royal Malaysian Police Headquarters, 50560 Bukit Aman, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
E-mail :

 Privacy Policy | Copyrights